Monday, March 14, 2011

Tracey Ullman

Trace Ullman was born on December 30, 1959 in Slough, England. She is a stage and television actress, comedienne, singer, dancer, screenwriter and author. At the age of 12, a headmaster saw Ullman's future potential, and recommended her to the Italia Conti Academy stage school. Although the school gave Ullman her first taste of the stage, she does not look back on it fondly. At the age of 16, Ullman began finding jobs as a dancer, and soon landed a role in Gigi in Berlin. Upon returning to England, she joined the "Second Generation" dance troupe. She also began appearing in variety shows. The exposure led to her casting in numerous West End musicals, including Grease, and The Rocky Horror Show. During this time Ullman was cast in a play at London's Royal Court Theatre for an improvised play about club acts. Entering the competition, Ullman created the character Beverly, a born-again Christian chanteuse. The performance was a big hit and she won the "Best Newcomer Award". The BBC became interested and offered her the chance to star in her own show. In 1983, Ullman took part in the workshops for Andrew Lloyd-Webber's upcoming musical, Starlight Express, playing the part of Pearl. She emigrated from the UK to the US and created her own network television series, The Tracey Ullman Show, from 1987 until 1990, from which The Simpsons was spun off in 1989. She later produced programs for HBO, including Tracey Takes On..., for which she has won numerous awards. She has also appeared in several feature films. Ullman's most recent sketch comedy series, Tracey Ullman's State of the Union, ran from 2008—2010 on Showtime.

You Broke My Heart in 17 Places (1983)

You Broke My Heart in 17 Places is Tracey Ullman's debut album, released on June 1, 1983. The album consisted of covers, mostly of 50's and 60's hit songs such as "Move Over Darling" (Doris Day). There's also Blondie's "(I'm Always Touched By Your) Presence Dear". "They Don't Know" -- originally written, recorded and released by singer Kirsty MacColl -- became Ullman's biggest hit. The album charted to #14 in the U.K. and #34 in the U.S. The following singles were spawned: Breakaway (#4 U.K., #70 U.S.), They Don't Know (#8 U.K., #2 U.S.), and Move Over Darling (#8 U.K.).


1-) Breakaway.
2-) They Don't Know.
3-) Bobby's Girl.
4-) Oh, What a Night.
5-) Move Over Darling.
6-) I Close My Eyes and Count to Ten.
7-) Long Live Love.
8-) (I'm Always Touched by Your) Presence Dear.
9-) Shattered.
10-) You Broke My Heart in 17 Places.
11-) Life Is a Rock (But the Radio Rolled Me).

You Caught Me Out (1984)

You Caught Me Out is Tracey Ullman's second and last studio album, released in 1984. It again includes mainly covers of 50's and 60's songs. However it also includes covers of more contemporary tracks such as Kirsty Mac Coll's Terry and You Caught Me Out and The Waitresses' I Know What Boys Like. The album was never released in the US. Nevertheless, the album charted to #92 in the U.K. The following singles were released: My Guy (#23 U.K.), Sunglasses (#18 U.K.), Helpless (#61 U.K.), and Terry (#81 U.K.).


1-) You Caught Me Out.
2-) Little by Little.
3-) Baby I Lied.
4-) Terry.
5-) Bad Motorcycle.
6-) Loving You Is Easy.
7-) My Guy.
8-) Sunglasses.
9-) If I Had You.
10-) Helpless.
11-) Where the Boys Are.
12-) Give Him a Great Big Kiss.
13-) I Know What Boys Like.
14-) I Don't Want our Loving to Die.


Tracey Plus

Tracey Plus is a self-made compilation which comprises Tracey Ullman's non-album tracks such as B-sides and unreleased tracks.


1-) Dancing in the Dark.
2-) Candy.
3-) The B-Side.
4-) Falling in and out of Love.
5-) Thinking of Running Away.
6-) Little Red Riding Hood.
7-) Alone.